Sabella cuts Argentina squad

Franco Di Santo: Cut from Argentina squad

Franco Di Santo: Cut from Argentina squad

Former Wigan and Blackburn forward Franco Di Santo is among four players to be cut from Argentina coach Alejandro Sabella’s preliminary World Cup squad.

Di Santo, now with Werder Bremen, was a surprise inclusion in the original 30-man list but will not make the trip to Brazil after he was omitted from a new 26-man squad.

Sporting Lisbon midfielder Fabian Rinaudo, River Plate defender Gabriel Mercado and Benfica centre-back Lisandro Lopez also miss out

Sabella will need to cut a further three names, with his 23-man squad set to be officially announced on June 2, the deadline imposed by FIFA.

The 1978 and 1986 winners will face Bosnia, Nigeria and Iran in Group F next month.

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (Monaco), Mariano Andujar (Catania), Agustin Orion (Boca Juniors).

Defenders: Ezequiel Garay (Benfica), Federico Fernandez (Napoli), Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Marcos Rojo (Sporting Lisbon), Jose-Maria Basanta (Monterrey), Hugo Campagnaro (Inter Milan), Nicolas Otamendi (Atletico Mineiro), Martin Demichelis (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Fernando Gago (Boca Juniors), Lucas Biglia (Lazio), Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Ever Banega (Newell’s Old Boys), Angel Di Maria (Real Madrid), Maxi Rodriguez (Newell’s Old Boys), Ricardo Alvarez (Inter Milan), Augusto Fernandez (Celta Vigo), Jose Sosa (Atletico Madrid), Enzo Perez (Benfica).

Forwards: Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli), Ezequiel Lavezzi (Paris St Germain), Rodrigo Palacio (Inter Milan).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *