alize cornet

Tennis Association Clarifies Code Violation Decision For Cornet Not Right

The United States Tennis Association (USTA) has finally clarified its position in the code violation matter of French ace Alize Cornet, who changed outfit off court on Tuesday.

Umpire Christian Rask was criticized heavily after he handed the world No. 31 WTA player a code violation.

According to rules WTA players can take a short break of about 10 minutes off court if the match is heading into a deciding set. Cornet abided by the norm but realized the new shirt was put back to front. She quickly corrected it at the back of the court.

Former Australian player Casey Dellacqua said the decision of Rask was ridiculous and Multiple Grand Slam doubles champion Bethanie Mattek-Sands labelled it as weak.

USTA said the handing over of a code violation was not the right decision as the rules reveal outfits can be changed when sitting in the player chair.

A statement released by USTA read, “All players can change their shirts when sitting in the player chair… This is not considered a Code Violation.”

USTA further added Cornet has just been warned and no fine or penalty has been levied. Female players may opt to change shirts in a more private location near to the court, if one such is available there, and this would not be considered as a bathroom break.

Meanwhile, the WTA too has released a statement saying handing over of code violation to the player was unfair as there is no rule against change of shirt on court and they will remain pioneer for women and women’s sports.

Cornet lost Tuesday’s game to Larsson by 6-4 3-6 2-6. In the second round she will be facing Angelique Kerber.