The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water Grabs Oscars For Best Picture

The Shape of Water grabbed the best picture at 90th Academy Awards and with this director Guillermo del Toro became the third Mexican filmmaker to win the title following Alejandro G. Inarritu and Alfonso Cuaron.

Being a whimsical science-fiction, the American romantic fantasy drama film is set during the Cold War, in Baltimore in 1962, and stars Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, and Octavia Spencer.

The Shape of Water was premered at the 7th Venice International Film Festival last year and grabbed the Golden Lion award too for best film in the competition.

The film received widespread praise for its direction, screenplay, performances, musical score and production design. Critics called it as Toro’s best film since Pan’s Labyrinth.

The film is written by del Toro and Vanessa Taylor. Most of the tracks are written by Alexandre Despiat.

At the 90th Academy Awards it received thirteen nominations and won four including Best Director, Best Production Design and Best Original Score.

Jordan Peele became the first African American to grab Oscar for best original screenplay for his work in box-office hit Get Out.

James Ivory won best adapted screenplay for Call Me by Your Name. He became the oldest Oscar winner ever. He is 89.

Fourteen-time nominee Roger Deakins grabbed his first Oscar for cinematography on Blade Runner 2049.

Best Actor – Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour as Winston Churchill
Best Actress – Frances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri as Mildred Hayes
Best Supporting Actor – Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri as Officer Jason Dixon
Best Supporting Actress – Allison Janney – I, Tonya as LaVona Golden